I may never be as clever as my
neighbor down the street,
I may never be as wealthy as some
other men I meet.
I may never have the glory that
some other men have had,
But I’ve just got to be successful as
that little fellow’ dad

There are certain dreams I cherish,
that I’d like to see come true
There are things I would like to do.
There are things I would like to accomplish
before my earthly life is through.
But the task I’ve set my heart on is
to guide a little lad,
To make myself successful as
that little fellow’s dad

Oh, I may never come to glory,
I may never gather gold,
And when my business life is over,
I may be considered a failure as told.
But the task I’ve set my heart on is
to guide a little lad,
To make myself successful as
that little fellow’s dad.

It’s the one job that I dream of,
The task I think of most,
For if I fail that little fellow,
I have nothing else to boast.
For the wealth and fame I gather,
all my fortune would be sad,
If I fail to be successful as that
little fellow’s dad
–Author Unknown

 

Found in S. Truett Cathy’s book, It’s Better to Build Boys than Mend Men

Leave a Reply

